Upgrading to Unite 23.1 from earlier versions

Upgrading to Unite 23.1 from earlier versions

07/11/2023


It is not possible to update directly to Unite 23.1 from versions earlier than Unite 21.1. Unite 21.1 is a required intermediate version and must be installed before upgrading to Unite 23.1.

Follow the supported upgrade path below:

  1. Upgrade from Dental Desktop (pre-Unite versions) to Unite 21.1
  2. Upgrade from Unite 21.1 to Unite 23.1
    • Once Unite 21.1 is installed, proceed with the upgrade to Unite 23.1 by following the steps below.

Important: Attempting to upgrade directly to Unite 23.1 from a version older than Unite 21.1 is not supported and may cause the installation to fail.

About Unite 23.1

Unite 23.1 introduces 3Shape Account, a unified login that provides access to all 3Shape services. Every user working with 3Shape software must have their own individual 3Shape Account.

Before starting the upgrade, we strongly recommend that you:

  • Create 3Shape Accounts for all users. For instructions on creating a 3Shape Account, see this article.
  • Identify who will serve as the 3Shape Account Administrator.
  • Ensure the Administrator is ready to manage user access and company setup.

Only a user with the 3Shape Account Administrator role can perform the upgrade to Unite 23.1, set up the company, and invite other users to join the organization. Preparing your accounts in advance will help ensure a smooth upgrade process.

Preparation checklist

Before you perform the update, you should:

  • Back up your data
  • Set aside 1.5 hours
  • Identify the owner of your active license
  • Make sure all users have 3Shape Accounts
  • Decide who is the Administrator of all Accounts and ensure they belong to the company
  • Check if you need a Client/Server or standalone installation
  • Check that you have stable internet that meets minimum system requirements
  • Make sure that you are performing this during 3Shape Customer Support working hours

Instructions

Step 1: Prepare the device for the update. Delete users that should no longer be there after the update by going to:

  1. Select the More tab 
  2. Select General
  3. Select Users
  4. Select the user you wish to delete
  5. Select Delete

Step 2: Check that the selected administrator is on the device; if not, create their user and link with the 3Shape Account (can be known as the Communicate account). Administrators should be added to all devices prior to the upgrade. 

Step 3: Check for updates by clicking More>Store and then you can see if there are upgrades available.


Step 4: A User with an Administrator role (could be Company Owner) should click on get started.



Step 5: Click on “Sign-in with an existing account” and enter your 3shape account credentials.


Step 6: Review your company data and click on “my company data is correct”.


Step 7: Review your personal information and click on “my personal data is correct”.


Step 8: Click on “I have read and understood” and click on “register” to link Unite to your 3Shape Account.


Step 9: Create a personal PIN code and click on “Next”.


Step 10: Now the system is ready to use. 

Step 11: After the update, all Users who created Accounts and were invited and/or accepted by the Admin User will see their Avatars on the screen.

Step 12: If a user cannot see their avatar, then they can click Add user to join the company.


Contact 3Shape Support if you have any further questions.

Was this article helpful?

Give feedback about this article